Rahul Basu Memorial Award

for Best Thesis in any area of High Energy Physics

About the award: This award is instituted in memory of the late Prof. Rahul Basu, one of India's leading High Energy physicists and a warm and enthusiastic member of the HEP community whose presence is greatly missed. The award, coordinated through the Indian Physics Association, will be given for the two most outstanding Ph.D. theses from India, across all areas of High Energy Physics (theoretical and experimental), during a 2-year period starting from September 1st of each even year. To be eligible for the 2020 award, the thesis should have been accepted with a Provisional Degree Certificate from a recognised university, dated between September 1, 2018 and August 31, 2020.

The winners, to be selected by an expert committee, will receive a cash prize (currently Rs 25,000) and a citation. The awards will be presented at the DAE symposium in High Energy Physics. The 2020 award (the fifth one in the series) will be given at the DAE symposium to be held virtually at National Institute of Science Education and Research (NISER) from December 14-18, 2020.

Nomination procedure: Nominations for this award are invited from faculty members working in High Energy Physics at a university or research institute. They should write to rahul.basu.award@gmail.com providing the name and email address of the nominee, and a brief (one paragraph) description of the nominee's work. The name of the nominee should also appear in the Subject line of this email.

Thereafter the award committee will contact the nominee to submit his/her thesis, along with a detailed CV including list of publications and a copy of the Provisional Degree Certificate. The nominee will be asked to request two referees (one of whom can be the nominator) to write directly to the same email address in support of the nomination. In all communications, the nominee's name should appear in the Subject line. The committee if needed will also consult experts in the area of the candidate.

Winners will be selected by an expert committee whose decision will be final.

Deadline: The last date to receive nominations will be September 15, 2020. Short-listed nominees may be contacted later on by the expert committee and asked to provide additional details as required.

Award ceremony: The winners will be invited to receive the award at a ceremony during the DAE Symposium in HEP, to be held at the NISER, from December 14-18, 2020 and to deliver a seminar on their thesis work at the award ceremony. This year the symposium will be in virtual mode.

Sunanda Banerjee, Debashis Ghoshal, Rohini Godbole, Sourendu Gupta, Neelima Gupte, James Libby, Bedanga Mohanty, Sunil Mukhi, and Seema Sharma